rainbow-world

Blue (Dilapidated Boat)

Posted on: January 17, 2010


Only a small area of this picture is actually blue.  But I’ve counted it as a ‘blue’ photograph, since the blue is the strongest colour, being very much brighter than the other colours.  Your eye is drawn to the nearer of the three boats, with the blue plastic cover making it the brightest thing in the scene.  (And this boat’s simple shape is very appealing, wouldn’t you agree?) 

It was an early afternoon during the heart of winter, on a raw day with a lot of moisture in the air.  It was very still, as can be seen by the way the boats and the trees are creating perfect reflections.

The boat is really quite dilapidated, it’s plain to see, and if you look closely, you’ll find that it needs at least one coat of fresh paint.  But for some of us, the ramshackle appearance of things like this is very attractive.  ‘Characterful’ is how I would describe it.  Old things seem to carry a breath of nostalgia, which (for me anyway) is near to the heart of beauty. 

The greys and browns remind me of the delicate colouring of some moths.  If I were to give this photograph a title, I think I’d call it ‘Winter Stillness’.  Some people love winter scenes with sparkling white snow and blue skies.  But I feel there is such an underrated beauty in these kinds of winter scenes, when the sky is covered with clouds, and the light coming through them is just strong enough to create a wonderful pearly glow. 

Does anyone else feel this way about so-called ‘dull days’? 

Blue Riddle

With a slender stem, I bulge in the blustery wind.
I often dwell in the midst of heather. 
Sometimes I grow among the short turf
of chalky downland.
Scotland and England do not agree
about how I should be named.

[If you’d like to know the answers – or to have your guesses confirmed as the correct answer! – email me on rschown@yahoo.co.uk.]

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Carole: Beautiful!
  • Amy: Sounds like a beautiful color and dress. And I would love to see a picture of that tree! I do love trees of all kinds, and you make some great points
  • Amy: What a beautiful poem or song to God, love it! We're exciting to see spring here up in the northeast after a long, cold, snowy winter! Blessings, A

Categories

