rainbow-world

Green (Leaves over River)

Posted on: January 16, 2010

A canopy of leaves – isn’t there something about that, that is just so reassuring?  It provides shade – light filtered through leaves, anyway –  yet it also lets a large amount of sunlight through.  This particular canopy was seen overhanging the River Stort, near Harlow in Essex. 

Nearby is The Moorhen restaurant and pub, and a mini-marina, where lots of colourful barges are moored.  Also a row of stately, attractive weeping willow trees.  (They loom so large, if you could hear them, you’d surely be deafened by the sound of blubbering!) 

A couple of days after New Year, while waiting at the nearby station, I glimpsed the partially-frozen water near The Moorhen – it appeared not translucent, but white.  There must have been ice on the river, then an extra layer on top that looked like icing, or ‘frosting’ as the Americans say. 

It shone like snow in the sunshine.  Also saw brightly-coloured mallard ducks, noticing especially the males, with their blue-green head plumage.  There seemed to be an excited mood among them.  I was in two minds whether to catch my train, or delay my trip and spend some time there, in that place of frosty beauty.  In the end, the train won out.  I still wonder about the photographs I might have taken, if I’d stayed. 

Green Riddle

I have a cup, but I don’t have a saucer,
I’m as British as tea, Miss Marple, or Chaucer,
Sometimes I’m brown, sometimes I’m green,
It’s in the autumn that I am seen.

I am little, but lead to something big,
A fruit I am – but not like a fig,
No, I’m afraid I’m not very tasty,
Come solve this riddle, I’m sure you’ll be hasty!

I think this is a really easy one!  But then that is easy for me to say.
BTW I know tea is not really British.

[If you’d like to know the answer – or to have your guess confirmed as the correct answer! – email me on rschown@yahoo.co.uk.]

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Carole: Beautiful!
  • Amy: Sounds like a beautiful color and dress. And I would love to see a picture of that tree! I do love trees of all kinds, and you make some great points
  • Amy: What a beautiful poem or song to God, love it! We're exciting to see spring here up in the northeast after a long, cold, snowy winter! Blessings, A

Categories

