rainbow-world

Orange (Daisy-like flower)

Posted on: December 19, 2009

I think of this as a ‘German’ colour – a shade of gold/orange that seems to be more popular in Germany than over here. Maybe that’s because something similar features on their flag, along with black and red.

But is it really orange? I sense you may be asking….perhaps it’s midway between gold and pale orange.

Looking up with a gentle expression, this flower speaks to me of patient trust.  The evenness of the petals also added to the appeal, that meant I took ‘yet another photo’ at Ventnor Botanic Gardens, Isle of Wight.  There is innocence, combined with gentleness and warmth, in the expression of this flower.  (Isn’t it wonderful that we can speak of a flower having an ‘expression’?)

Orange Riddle (1)

I occasionally take the place of toes.
Both thick-skinned and very thin-skinned,
I am bright and exotic.
A cousin of mine
has a chocolate counterpart
(‘as seen on TV’).
I go to pieces in your hands.
Guess me!

Orange Riddle (2)

Now that my strength has nearly gone,
I seem bigger.
I’m almost about to disappear –
but people talk about me more, now,
pointing to what I create.
I cause an explosion
of pink and red.

Note: The answer is an adjective and a noun.

[If you want confirmation your answers are right, or just want the answers, email me on: rschown@yahoo.co.uk.]

 

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Carole: Beautiful!
  • Amy: Sounds like a beautiful color and dress. And I would love to see a picture of that tree! I do love trees of all kinds, and you make some great points
  • Amy: What a beautiful poem or song to God, love it! We're exciting to see spring here up in the northeast after a long, cold, snowy winter! Blessings, A

Categories

