rainbow-world

Green Light Ahead

Posted on: March 21, 2011

As spring unfurls, I am aware of how much greener the world is gradually going to become over the next few months. Not long now till we change the clocks. As I write, I am looking at a robin who keeps hopping up from the lawn onto the bare branch of a birch tree. Another is hopping around the edge of the garden pond. Both have orange-red chests so I wonder if they are rivals, with adjoining territories.

For me, robins are associated with winter, and I’ve found it poignant, this morning, to see a symbol of a season that is now my favourite, at a time when the seasons are changing. I love the calm and stillness of winter and the invitation it seems to bring to stay reflective and thoughtful. It feels a wrench to move on into spring, and yet that season brings with it the expansiveness associated with looking outward and connecting with the wider world – and its crying needs.

Last night I penned words that could be used as the basis for a worship song. I imagined sunshine lighting up dew in a summer meadow at one point – see below. Something inside me must be looking forward to summer, after all.

These words are addressed to Father God.

All my sunshine
changed into tears.
Then I turned to you
and you dried my tears again
with the better-than-the-last-time
sunshine of your love –
hope renewed afresh
with life and health.

Ever-renewing
never-exhausting
your love is a miracle.
Deep unto deep calls
power from your mercy seat
strengthening my weak places
filling me with awe.

Your warm acceptance
shines through my tears
like the radiance
of a dew-soaked summer morning.
I can never fully thank you
for all the grace you send my way -
it beautifies my life,
it’s life itself.

Ever-renewing
never-exhausting
your love is a miracle.
Deep unto deep calls
power from your mercy seat
strengthening my weak places
filling me with awe.

2 Responses to "Green Light Ahead"

What a beautiful poem or song to God, love it!
We’re exciting to see spring here up in the northeast after a long, cold, snowy winter!
Blessings,
Amy

Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

    • Carole: Beautiful!
    • Amy: Sounds like a beautiful color and dress. And I would love to see a picture of that tree! I do love trees of all kinds, and you make some great points
    • Amy: What a beautiful poem or song to God, love it! We're exciting to see spring here up in the northeast after a long, cold, snowy winter! Blessings, A

    Categories

    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

