rainbow-world

Warmth and comfort (yellow)

Posted on: February 28, 2011

Plan A for this series of posts was to write about prophecies and prophetic prayers. However, this has proved more difficult than I anticipated. I am realising what a private and personal thing these kinds of revelations from God are. Tying in this theme with the colours of the rainbow would probably be the easy part – far more difficult, would be sharing these kinds of ‘whispers from the Lord’, openly.

However, perhaps I’ve learned something through attempting to write in this way. Today I’m writing prompted by a photograph of catkins – and this has made me realise how much God may want to speak to us through ordinary, natural things, that rarely are our ears attuned to hear.

The colour yellow is a warm, simple, straightforward colour, although at its green ‘edges’ it can be harsh and dramatic – I’ve heard lemon yellow described in these terms. Recently, I attended an exhibition by the artist Paul Hobbs. He had produced three paintings in which he’s attempted to encapsulate on canvas, the three ‘things that will endure’ – faith, hope and love.

The ‘Hope’ painting is made up of a mass of triangles, because, he explained, hope in order to be hope, must point towards something. There is also a squiggly red line – it has a sense of freedom and fluidity – again, expressing a sense of movement. The dominant colour of the painting is a gentle shade of yellow. It’s a little darker and less naive-looking than primrose yellow, not as ‘sturdy’ as custard yellow, and definitely not cold or harsh at all, like lemon yellow. I am finding it hard to describe, but perhaps sunshine yellow mixed with ochre might not be too far off the mark.

Somehow this painting did make me organically experience a sense of hope. The ‘Faith’ one, mauve/purple squares – ‘because faith is built up gradually’ – affected me in the same way, but with ‘Love’ I am afraid I parted company with the artist in his conviction that red/pink has to be the colour for love. For me, a shade of off-white or cream would be just right for ‘Love’.

All this makes me realise how fortunate we are to live in a world of colour. ‘What’s your favourite colour?’ is a question children often ask each other. A young male relative of mine (aged four) takes great pride in naming his favourite colour – or colours as it often is. Some things in life, are areas where God wants us to choose and He delights in our free choice.

I wonder if God ever enjoys being surprised by us. I suspect he does. If a father gave his teenage son a selection of paint-pots and asked him to paint the shed, would he necessarily be gratified if the son asked him dutifully what shade he should choose? No, I suspect he’d look forward to walking down the garden path, wondering whether the son had made a good job of it, and also wondering what colour he’d selected. I can picture the smile on the father’s face as he said to himself, ‘Ah, that’s what colour you chose – interesting!’

Leave a Reply

    • Carole: Beautiful!
    • Amy: Sounds like a beautiful color and dress. And I would love to see a picture of that tree! I do love trees of all kinds, and you make some great points
    • Amy: What a beautiful poem or song to God, love it! We're exciting to see spring here up in the northeast after a long, cold, snowy winter! Blessings, A

    Categories

    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

